(News) CBSE Class-10th Exams Become Optional And New Grading System

Disclaimer: This website is NOT associated with CBSE, for official website of CBSE visit - www.cbse.gov.in

Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE)

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is set to make the Class X board examination optional for students who will continue in the same school for the senior secondary level.


Courtesy: Star News

The Board has decided to introduce the grading scheme at Secondary level for classes IX & X from the current academic year 2009-10. Accordingly, the “Statement of Subject wise Performance” to be issued by the Board w.e.f. the Class X Examination 2010 will have only grades.  Similarly, the schools are also directed to introduce the above Grading Scheme in the evaluation of their students in Class IX under the scheme of CCE as detailed in the Circular No. 39 dated 20th September, 2009.


"This grade system will effective from year 2009-10 in schools and we will think of doing thing in our state boards, "Kapil Sibbal said"

This mean all those students who are sitting in this year CBSE board exam will be declared Fail or Pass on the basis of new grading system. State government and all CBSE affiliated schools are agreed with this Government released system.

New Grading System For CBSE Class 10th: (Grades will be decided according to the subject)https://cbseportal.com/images/my-grades.jpg

There are 9 categories in this grading system:

  1. "A1 Grade" (100% to 90%)
  2. "A2 Grade"
  3. "B1 Grade"
  4. "B2 Grade"
  5. "C1 Grade"
  6. "C2 Grade"
  7. "D1 Grade"
  8. "D2 Grade"
  9. "E Grade" (0 to 20% marks)

Students will get  "A1 Grade" if they collected 100% to 90% marks in exams, And others will be declared pass those who earn less than this in board exams. Student would have to give Compartment exam if they earn "E Grade" in two subjects then they can step in next class.

All those students who earn "E Grade" in three subjects will be considered as Fail in board exam.